Romanticism and its Discontents

NASSR Berkeley 2016



Dear Colleagues,

The 24th Annual Conference of the North American Society for the Study of Romanticism will take place on the campus of the University of California, Berkeley, on August 11-14, 2016. Our conference is entitled "Romanticism and its Discontents."

We invite consideration of any aspect of discontent with and within Romanticism, a field we construe in broad, international terms. Participants might address the misfit between a concept and a practice; explore writers' representations of disaffection, their resistance to contemporary norms (aesthetic, political, economic, social, or cultural), or their desire to reassert those norms; discuss the deficiencies of "Romanticism" as an ideological or historical category or "discontent" as an affect intrinsic to Romanticism; reflect on the current state of academic scholarship. Or—if you are dissatisfied with these formulations—we invite you to construe Romanticism's discontents in any way that seems compelling.

Keynote Speakers:

T. J. Clark, Emeritus, University of California, Berkeley Rei Terada, University of California, Irvine

Special Seminar Leaders:

David L. Clark, McMaster University Mary Favret, Johns Hopkins University Penny Fielding, University of Edinburgh Yoon Sun Lee, Wellesley College Deidre Lynch, Harvard University Maureen McLane, New York University Tobias Menely, University of California, Davis Anahid Nersessian, University of California, Los Angeles Daniel O'Quinn, University of Guelph Jonathan Sachs, Concordia University David Simpson, University of California, Davis

Our conference website is as yet a work in progress. But there you will find information about the several kinds of submissions we invite (see under "Call for Papers"), special seminar topics, keynote addresses, accommodations, and deadlines. Please keep checking back as the site acquires more details.

We look forward to your submissions and to welcoming you to Berkeley.

Thank you from the NASSR 2016 Steering Committee: Ian Duncan, Anne-Lise François, Steven Goldsmith, Kevis Goodman, Celeste Langan, Janet Sorensen, Elisa Tamarkin